TOWN OF NEW LEBANON RESOLUTION #11 2024 RECREATION OF THE CLIMATE SMART COMMUNITIES TASK FORCE FEBRUARY 13, 2024

At the regular monthly meeting of the New Lebanon Town Board, held in person, duly called and held on the 13th day of February 2024, the following Resolution was proposed and seconded:

Resolution by Supervisor Houghtling Seconded by Councilmember Tipograph

RECREATION OF THE CLIMATE SMART COMMUNITIES TASK FORCE

- WHEREAS, the Town of New Lebanon took the Climate Smart Communities Pledge in February of 2020; and
- WHEREAS, the Town established a Climate Smart Communities Task Force in 2020 with 11 members that included members of the Town's Conservation Advisory Council, the NL Representative to the Columbia County Environmental Management Council, a member of the Town Board and members of the public; and
- WHEREAS, the Town received 2 resignations in 2024 from the Climate Smart Communities Task Force and the Task Force recommended that the Town decrease the membership of the Climate Smart Communities Task Force to 10 members, leaving 1 vacant seat instead of filling both vacant positions; and
- WHEREAS, the NL Representative to the Columbia County Environmental Management Council and 3 members of the Town's Conservation Advisory Council have agreed to serve on the Climate Smart Task Force with the NL Representative to the Columbia County Environmental Management Council serving as the Climate Smart Communities Coordinator and a member of the Town's Conservation Advisory Council serving as the Chair; and
- WHEREAS, the Climate Smart Communities Chair position shall serve as the single point person to serve as liaison among the governing body and chief executive and shall have a commitment to local climate action, good communication and organizational skills, demonstrated ability to motivate volunteers and the ability to manage relationships among elected officials, municipal staff and volunteers; and
- WHEREAS, the Climate Smart Communities Chair position shall serve as liaison among task force members and chair all climate smart task force meetings and shall have a commitment to local climate action, good communication and organizational skills, demonstrated ability to motivate volunteers and the ability to manage relationships among volunteers.
- IT IS HEREBY RESOLVED that the Town Board of the Town of New Lebanon hereby reestablishes the Climate Smart Task Force with the following members and positions:

Bruce Shenker – CSC Coordinator and NL Rep to CC Enviro Mgt Council Steve Powers – CSC Chair, elected Town Board member and CAC Rep Robert Gilson – CAC Rep

Resolution #11, 2024 Climate Smart Task Force Feb 13, 2024 Page **2** of **2**

Elizabeth Poreba – Member of the Public Cathy Wilkerson – Member of the Public Adelia Moore – Member of the Public Kristine Cottom – Member of the Public Frieda Pearce – Member of the Public Julie Fraad – Member of the Public Open Vacant Seat – Member of the Public

Upon the question of the foregoing Resolution, the following Town Board Members voted "Aye" or "Nay" for said Resolution:

Roll Call Vote:

Councilmember Steven Powers	Aye
Councilmember Elizabeth Kroboth	Aye
Supervisor Tistrya Houghtling	Aye
Councilmember Susan Tipograph	Aye
Councilmember Craig Skerkis	Aye

The Resolution, having been approved by a majority vote of the Town Board, was declared duly adopted by the Supervisor of the Town of New Lebanon.

Dated: Feb 13, 2024

Marcie Robertson Town Clerk Town of New Lebanon