TOWN OF NEW LEBANON RESOLUTION #14, 2020 CREATION OF THE CLIMATE SMART COMMUNITIES TASK FORCE APRIL 14, 2020

At the regular monthly meeting of the New Lebanon Town Board, held via video and teleconference, duly called and held on the 14th day of April 2020, the following Resolution was proposed and seconded:

Resolution by Supervisor Houghtling Seconded by Councilmember Gordon

CREATION OF THE CLIMATE SMART COMMUNITIES TASK FORCE

- WHEREAS, the Town of New Lebanon took the Climate Smart Communities Pledge in February of 2020; and
- WHEREAS, the next step in the Climate Smart Communities Program is to establish a Climate Smart Communities Task Force; and
- WHEREAS, the Climate Smart Communities Task Force should include members of the Town's Conservation Advisory Council, the NL Representative to the Columbia County Environmental Management Council, and members of the public; and
- WHEREAS, the Town sent notice to the public looking for member of the public interested in serving on the Climate Smart Task Force and received 8 letters of interest from members of the public; and
- WHEREAS, the NL Representative to the Columbia County Environmental Management Council and 3 members of the Town's Conservation Advisory Council have agreed to serve on the Climate Smart Task Force with the NL Representative to the Columbia County Environmental Management Council serving as the Climate Smart Communities Coordinator and a member of the Town's Conservation Advisory Council serving as the Chair; and
- WHEREAS, the Climate Smart Communities Coordinator position shall serve as the single point person to serve as liaison among the governing body and chief executive and shall have a commitment to local climate action, good communication and organizational skills, demonstrated ability to motivate volunteers and the ability to manage relationships among elected officials, municipal staff and volunteers; and
- WHEREAS, the Climate Smart Communities Chair position shall as liaison among task force members and chair all climate smart task force meetings and shall have a commitment to local climate action, good communication and organizational skills, demonstrated ability to motivate volunteers and the ability to manage relationships among volunteers.
- IT IS HEREBY RESOLVED that the Town Board of the Town of New Lebanon hereby establishes the Climate Smart Task Force with the following members and positions:

Bruce Shenker – CSC Coordinator and NL Rep to CC Enviro Mgt Council Steve Powers – CSC Chair and CAC Rep Robert Gilson – CAC Rep Jenna Barbary – CAC Rep

Resolution 14, 2020 Climate Smart Task Force April 14, 2020 Page **2** of **2**

Marc Frey – Member of the Public
Marsha Kessler – Member of the Public
Elizabeth Poreba – Member of the Public
Cathy Wilkerson – Member of the Public
Adelia Moore – Member of the Public
Sarah Steadman – Member of the Public
Carole Roseman – Member of the Public
Steven Dono – Member of the Public

Upon the question of the foregoing Resolution, the following Town Board Members voted "Aye" or "Nay" for said Resolution:

Roll Call Vote:

| Councilmember Norman Rasmussen | Aye |
|--------------------------------|-----|
| Councilmember Deborah Gordon | Aye |
| Supervisor Tistrya Houghtling | Aye |
| Councilmember Jesse Newton | Aye |
| Councilmember John Trainor | Aye |

The Resolution, having been approved by a majority vote of the Town Board, was declared duly adopted by the Supervisor of the Town of New Lebanon.

Dated: April 14, 2020

Marcie Robertson Town Clerk Town of New Lebanon